Indiana House Democrats select new leadership team for 2019/2020 sessions

News & Media, News & Media Featured

INDIANAPOLIS - Indiana House Democrats met today and selected the following leadership team for the 2019-2020 legislative sessions:

House Democratic Leader: State Rep. Phil GiaQuinta (D-Fort Wayne)

House Democratic Caucus Chair: State Rep. Mara Candelaria Reardon (D-Munster)

House Democratic Floor Leader: State Rep. Cherrish Pryor (D-Indianapolis)



“I am honored that my colleagues in the House Democratic Caucus have chosen me to be their leader. I am pleased that our caucus was able to pick up seats in Tuesday’s election, but I feel that we can do more to ensure that all Hoosiers are given a voice in their state government. We have a growing number of diverse voices in the House Democratic Caucus, and I intend to use their skills to provide a vision of how government can work for the people of Indiana. We will begin to articulate that vision in the 2019 legislative session.”



A native of Fort Wayne, Leader GiaQuinta was born and raised in Indiana House District 80, which comprises south-central Fort Wayne. He was elected to the Indiana House in 2006.

GiaQuinta currently works as a customer account manager for Fort Wayne City Utilities. He earned his black belt in Six Sigma for reducing the average hold time for City Utilities customers. He started Fort Wayne’s successful 3-1-1 call center, a one-stop shop for city services.

GiaQuinta is currently a trustee of the Allen County War Memorial Coliseum and serves on the board of Brightpoint. In the past, GiaQuinta has served on many boards for organizations such as Community Harvest Food Bank, Blue Jacket, and Eagles Nest Youth Center. He also formerly served as an elected member to the Wayne Township Advisory Board.

He graduated from Leadership Fort Wayne, a program that instructs and encourages individuals to become active leaders within the community. He holds a bachelor’s degree from Indiana University. GiaQuinta is the past recipient of a Legislator of the Year award from both the Indiana Trial Lawyers and the Indiana Chamber of Commerce.

GiaQuinta is the son of former State Representative Ben GiaQuinta. He is the youngest of six children and proud uncle to 16 nieces and nephews.


During today’s meeting, House Democrats also welcomed eight new members to their ranks:

State Rep. Carolyn B. Jackson (D-Hammond), House District 1.

State Rep. Ragen Hatcher (D-Gary), House District 3.

State Rep. Patricia A. (Pat) Boy (D-Michigan City), House District 9.

State Rep. Chris Chyung (D-Dyer), House District 15.

State Rep. Lisa Beck (D-Crown Point), House District 19.

State Rep. Chris Campbell (D-West Lafayette), House District 26.

State Rep. Tonya Pfaff (D-Terre Haute), House District 43.

State Rep. Rita Fleming (D-Jeffersonville), House District 71.

Share Article