Macer honors Dr. Jeff Butts, Indiana’s 2019 Superintendent of the Year

News & Media, Member Featured

INDIANAPOLIS – Representative Karlee Macer (D-Speedway) and Indiana House members today honored Wayne Township School Superintendent Dr. Jeff Butts as the 2019 Indiana Superintendent of the Year.

Dr. Butts was presented his award from the Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents (IAPSS) at its 69th Annual Fall Conference.

Dr. Butts has served as superintendent of the Metropolitan School District (MSD) of Wayne Township since January 1, 2011. He previously served as an assistant superintendent in MSD Wayne, a middle school principal in the Tippecanoe School Corporation in Lafayette, and held both administrative and teaching positions in the Delphi Community School Corporation.

Macer invited Dr. Butts onto the House floor to be recognized by members of the Indiana House.

“As someone who grew up attending MSD Wayne schools, I am honored to introduce Dr. Jeff Butts to the Indiana General Assembly as the 2019 Indiana Superintendent of the Year,” Macer said. “Dr. Butts has worked tirelessly for the last eight years to provide opportunities for students and staff to succeed in and outside of the classroom.”

Dr. Butts has collaborated with area colleges to provide over 27,000 dual college credits each year to Wayne Township students.

The American Association of School Administrators considered Dr. Butts for the National Superintendent of the Year Award and recognized him as one of the top four superintendents in the nation.

Dr. Butts has dedicated his time and leadership abilities to various education organizations throughout the state. He has served as chair of the Superintendent Advisory Group of the Indiana State Board of Education; president of the Indiana Urban Schools Association; chair of the YMCA’s Annual Campaign Committee; vice president of the Indy Gateway Economic Development Corporation; president of the Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents, and now serves as the chair of the Indiana University Partnershare and the recruitment chair for the West Side Chamber of Commerce.

“It is incredibly important that we recognize the dedication that Hoosier educators put into caring for and educating our children, who are the future leaders of Indiana,” Macer said. “Dr. Butts serves as an example of the hard-working nature and selfless behavior of those who devote their lives to helping our children learn.”

Numerous awards have been presented to Dr. Butts through the years, including the 2017 Advocate of the Year by the Indiana Council for Exceptional Children; the 2014 YMCA Cause Drive Leadership Award; the 2012 Indiana High School Press Association Administrator of the Year; and the 2005 District IV Principal of the Year by the Indiana Association of School Principals.

Share Article