Klinker, Indiana House congratulate 2018 state football champion Red Devils

News & Media, Member Featured

INDIANAPOLIS – Representative Sheila Klinker (D-Lafayette) led Indiana House members today in congratulating the West Lafayette Red Devils for winning the 2018 IHSAA Class 3A State Football Championship.

The Red Devils won the state title at Lucas Oil Stadium on November 24, 2018, by defeating the defending state champion Evansville Reitz Tigers 47-42.

The championship game ended a historic season for West Lafayette who went 15-0 and broke or tied 29 team and individual records. Head Coach Shane Fry led the Red Devils to their third state title, with the support of assistant coaches Jack Barron, Dough Caldwell, Brad DeWees, Jason Huber, Kelly Kitchel, Josh Roseman, Rick Roseman, Jon Speaker, Aaron Wood, and Nick Atkins-Harris.

Fry and members of the state champion team joined Klinker on the House floor to be recognized for the hard work and commitment they put into winning the IHSAA Class 3A state title.

“The accomplishments of these young men speak to the talent, skill and dedication they have given to high school football and their team,” Klinker said. “This historic season will be remembered by players, coaches, friends, family, and now the Indiana General Assembly for years to come.”

Share Article