CLICK HERE :View Indiana House Democrats' 2024 Economic Freedom Agenda.

Johnson announces recipients of scholarship program for local emerging leaders

News & Media

INDIANAPOLIS – State Rep. Blake Johnson (D-Indianapolis) today announced the winners of the Mary Moriarty Adams Memorial Scholarship, which is awarded to graduating high school seniors or adults planning to enroll in postsecondary education for the first time, who have shown an uncommon commitment to volunteerism and community service. The award is named for long-time Indianapolis City-County Councilor Mary Moriarty Adams.

Scholarship recipients were selected from within Rep. Johnson’s previous Council district on the city’s east and southeast sides. Due to Johnson’s recent appointment to the House of Representatives, future years of the program will be open to individuals who live or go to school in House District 100 which represents a much larger portion of the city.

The Mary Moriarty Adams Memorial Scholarships has been awarded to:

Nyree Carpenter, who will be pursuing a degree in nursing this fall and Raquel Williams, who will be pursuing a degree in chemical engineering.

“It has been a challenging year for all of us, but what we know is that young people all over our community have continued to step up and make a difference,” Johnson stated.

“These scholarship recipients represent the best amongst us, young people who have shown a strong dedication to our community and to lending a hand whenever possible. I look forward to seeing these emerging leaders accomplish their educational goals and ultimately play a role in leading our city and state in the years to come.”

Share Article