CLICK HERE:View the independent redistricting commission's 2021 map and amendment sponsored by Indiana House Democrats

IBLC to host three virtual town halls

IBLC, News & Media

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Black Legislative Caucus (IBLC) will host three virtual town halls this summer to provide Hoosiers with a wrap-up of the 2021 Legislative Session, answer questions regarding community issues and hear suggestions for legislation for the 2022 Legislative Session.

The IBLC 2021 Virtual Town Halls are currently scheduled to take place on June 3, August 12 and October 14 at 6:00 PM (ET) via Zoom. David Williams of WISH TV, Tina Cosby of Radio One and Steve “Scoop” Jefferson of WTHR have graciously agreed to moderate these town halls respectively. Special guests from the Indiana Minority Health Coalition, including Tony Gillespie, will also be attending to provide an update on Indiana's Minority Health Disparities Task Force.

“This is an opportunity for Hoosiers to come together and have a conversation about what the IBLC can do to help their communities,” State Rep. Robin Shackleford (D-Indianapolis), Chair of the IBLC, said. “I encourage everyone to join us for these events.

“On behalf of the IBLC, I would like to express our sincere gratitude for our volunteer moderators and our partnership with the Indianapolis Recorder and New America Indianapolis for supporting this opportunity. Their support helps the IBLC connect with and hear from Hoosiers all across the state.”

Joining Shackleford at the town halls, which will be hosted by New America Indianapolis, will be:

State Rep. Earl L. Harris Jr. (D-East Chicago) - Vice Chair

State Rep. Renee Pack (D-Indianapolis) - Treasurer

State Rep. John L. Bartlett (D-Indianapolis) – Parliamentarian

State Rep. Carolyn B. Jackson (D-Hammond) – Chaplain

Senate Democratic Leader Greg Taylor (D-Indianapolis)

State Rep. Ragen Hatcher (D-Gary)

State Sen. Jean D. Breaux (D-Indianapolis)

State Sen. Eddie Melton (D-Gary)

State Rep. Cherrish Pryor (D-Indianapolis)

State Rep. Gregory W. Porter (D-Indianapolis)

State Sen. Lonnie Randolph (D-East Chicago)

State Rep. Vernon G. Smith (D-Gary)

State Rep. Vanessa Summers (D-Indianapolis)

Those interested in attending any of the three town halls can register at

Share Article